Gardens open daily, 10.30 - 5.30 | Book Garden Tickets

Violin, Garden, Sky – Music in the Gallery and James Turrell Skyspace

Friday 20th September 2024 – 7pm in the Gallery, 4.30pm in the Skyspace

Peter Sheppard Skærved – Violin

Bach – Sonatas and Partitas, complete! Works by living composers inspired by seascapes, sculptures gardens and the weather. Labyrinths, walks and dances by composers from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Acclaimed violinist Peter Sheppard Skærved presents the final of three events inspired by the landscape, art, and nature of Tremenheere. Bach’s epochal cycle of works for violin alone provide the armature for this musical exploration of one of this space. And they are set in conversation with works for the baroque and music of our time, by some of the leading composers of our time, from Europe, the USA and Australia, all long-time collaborators with Peter. Read more about the other concerts in the series.

The evening concert will take place on the upper floor of Tremenheere Gallery – beginning at 7pm, with doors open from 6.30pm. Proceeded by a shorter performance in the Skyspace at 4.30pm – entry to the gardens from 4pm included in ticket purchase.

£20 per person, or purchase tickets to all three events for £50.

7pm – Tremenheere Gallery

Johann Sebastian Bach – A  minor Sonata BWV 1003

Anon/Klagenfurt Manuscript  –  G minor Suite (1685)

Johann Sebastian Bach – D minor Partita ( Chaconne) BWV 1004

Robert Saxton – ‘Reflections in Time’ – Sonata (2023)+

4.30pm – James Turrell Skyspace

Johann Joseph Vilsmaÿr – Partia ‘Artificiosu Concentus pro Musica’ (1710)

Michael Hersch – ‘… in the snowy margins…’ (after Bruno Schulz) (2010)+

Notes: The final concert is built around the most celebrated work in Bach’s cycle of Sonatas & Partitas , the Chaconne. Like the Biber heard earlier, this is a ‘walking’ piece, a ‘passacaglia’. The Klagenfurt Manuscript is the largest single collection of solo works from the 17th century; it is anonymous, most likely written by a brilliantly gifted nun in a convent in modern day Slovenia.

Robert Saxton is one of the UK’s most celebrated living composers. His ‘Reflections in Time’ was inspired by Peter’s work as a painter,  most particularly, representations of weather and water. Baltimore-based Michael Hersch wrote his solo work inspired by the writing of the Bruno Schulz: like all of this music, it is deeply human, with a sense of landscape and deep time.

Purchase tickets – Friday 20th September 2024 Purchase tickets – all three events – 12/07, 02/08, 20/09